Donna Campbell Unveils ‘Chair of Honor’ at Capitol As a Tribute to MIA and POW Service Members

AUSTIN — Senator Donna Campbell, Chairwoman of the Senate Veteran Affairs and Military Installations Committee, joined veterans today from Rolling Thunder and VFW Post 7108 to unveil a unique, handcrafted chair in the Capitol intended to honor MIA service members and Prisoners of War.

“The Chair of Honor represents a reserved seat in our statehouse for the 82,000 service men and women who have not yet returned home from active duty while serving our country,” Senator Campbell said in a brief ceremony in the Capitol extension. “When one stands here in our State Capitol and views this chair, we cannot help but reflect on the significance of their sacrifice. It’s a powerful message for every visitor.”

The chair was designed, built, and presented by members of VFW Post 7108 in San Antonio. It will be on display in the Capitol Extension through Monday, October 17th. From there, it will be moved to the Veteran Affairs and Military Installations Committee Room, where it will remain until the end of the legislative session, serving as a reminder of the important work the committee does for Texas veterans.

This is the first Chair of Honor to ever make an appearance at the Texas Capitol. Others have been prominently displayed in other state capitols, professional sports stadiums and arenas, parks and museums, and veterans facilities. The chair displayed in Austin is unique in that it is made of solid oak and has a decorative peak inspired by the Alamo. VFW Post Commander Rolando Webber made the trip from San Antonio to assist with the unveiling.

“We must always remember and honor the sacrifices of those who were prisoners of war, or who remain missing in action. They and their families have carried a burden few of us can ever truly appreciate. This chair reminds us of all that our veterans give for our nation,” Senator Campbell solemnly stated.


Senator Donna Campbell represents Senate District 25 and chairs the Senate Veterans Affairs and Military Installations Committee. She is an emergency room physician.